Ramen! Its popularity gaining every year, ramen is now known all over the globe, and there are probably only a handful of people who don't start licking their chops when they think of scrumptious ramen broths, delightfully chewy noodles, and toppings from A to Z. However, for certain visitors to Japan, ramen is still out of reach due to some dietary restrictions, namely for tourists of the Islam faith, and also for vegetarians. There has been a large increase in visitors from Southeast Asia, and the numbers of vegetarians from abroad and even within Japan, have been steadily going up.
The famous Shinyokohama Raumen Museum in Shinyokohama has now created menus that can be enjoyed by our Muslim and vegetarian visitors! But don't think these menus are lacking in flavor or essential "ramen-ness!" Muslim-friendly menus include no-pork, no-alcohol choices, and vegetarian menus offer choices for lacto-, ovo- , lacto-ovo-vegetarians, and vegans, too. You'll find them to be just as delicious as traditional ramen, and enjoyable for all guests, no matter what their religious or diet beliefs are!
There is also a special area for those who wish to worship in accordance with Islam. This venue has been created in accordance with Islam direction requirements. Prayer mats are available.
For more information, please visit Shinyokohama Raumen Museum.
Information is provided as a courtesy to users of this website. Though the JNTO endeavors to ensure the information is accurate, users of the information are to act on such using their own judgement and at their own risk. Neither the JNTO nor any holder of copyright to the information shall be held responsible in any way whatsoever for any loss or misunderstanding, either direct or indirect, that is incurred as a result of utilizing the information.